miniheader curriculum8

Home | Curriculum and Pedagogy | Learning and Teaching

title learning and teaching

St Michael's Catholic Primary School is a school registered by the NSW Board of Studies and is subject to the curriculum requirements of the Board.

In NSW, the Board of Studies provides schools with syllabus documents and all primary schools are required to teach subjects from six Key Learning Areas (KLAs).  These are:

  • English
  • Mathematics
  • Science and Technology
  • Human Society and its Environment
  • Creative Arts
  • Personal Development, Health and Physical Education

In addition, a course in Religious Education is taught in theory and practice.

At St Michael's the teachers develop programs based on the Foundation Statements and Syllabus Outcomes.  Foundation Statements are a description of the learning the students will be engaged in at each stage of primary school.

The stages of English K-6 are as follows:

Early Stage 1 Kindergarten
Stage 1 Year 1 and Year 2
Stage 2 Year 3 and Year 4
Stage 3 Year 5 and Year 6

Most students will be working towards the outcomes for thier stage.  Some students will be working towards outcomes that are above or below their stage.

The Australian Curriculum will be phased into NSW schools from 2014 starting with English and Mathematics.